New Noctilucent Cloud photos over Kendal

Kendal Clouds

Kendal Clouds

Although the clouds have been stubbornly hanging over us the past few weeks, removing any chance of seeing the recent storm of Noctilucent clouds, they parted last night (night of the 19th, morning of the 20th) for a view of the heavens. I went out and took a nice long look at Jupiter, whose four Galilean Moons were nicely line up. I also took a look at Neptune, hanging around nearby (as Jupiter now appears high in a relatively dark sky, the contrast has improved enough for Neptune to be seen as a disc).

Kendal clouds

Kendal clouds

After heading in to watch the John Glenn lectures on Nasa TV, I then headed out for another look at Jupiter, then turned my attention to the risen Venus. After packing away my scope, I headed inside the house to shut down the computer, but noticed a nice white glow outside – Noctilucent clouds.

Kendal clouds

Kendal clouds

I headed out with my digital camera to see a lovely show of clouds. They weren’t as bright as the one I saw (and photographed, and posted about) at the start of the season, but they covered far more of the sky. They were intricate and the Moon and Venus and several stars stood out amongst them.

Kendal cloud

Kendal cloud

I snapped and snapped away until the batteries in the camera died. Taking shots over the valley to the North, over the valley wall to the east (where the thin crescent Moon and Venus lay) and over a house to the West. I then walked back home and noticed something – the house to the west had hidden some bright, robust clouds now coming into their own. I was without a digicam, so nipped back, swapped over the film SLR and got many shots at different exposure times. Well see what happens when they develop… For now, enjoy what I got digitally.

Kendal clouds

Kendal clouds

Leave a Reply

